"Mindfulness, the aware, balanced acceptance of present experience, is at the heart of what the Buddha taught.”
—Sylvia Boorstein

Spirit Rock Teachers Council

Back row, left to right: Jack Kornfield, Gil Fronsdal, Tempel Smith, Will Kabat-Zinn, Howard Cohn, Mark Coleman, Sharda Rogell, Guy Armstrong, Wes Nisker, Phillip Moffitt, Donald Rothberg, Ayya Anandabodhi, Dana DePalma, James Baraz.
Front row, left to right: Anushka Fernandopulle, Andrea Fella, Julie Wester, Sylvia Boorstein, Anna Douglas, Spring Washam, Eugene Cash, Debra Chamberlin-Taylor, Sally Armstrong, Larry Yang.

Spirit Rock retreats are led by the 27 members of the Spirit Rock Teachers Council and by visiting teachers from other vipassana centers such as Insight Meditation Society (IMS) and Gaia House. Select a teacher from the list below to read their bio.

Spirit Rock's teachers have generally practiced Insight Meditation for more than 20 years. Many have trained in the monasteries of Asia. Over the years, they have each been invited into a formal teacher training group by the most senior teachers based on their depth of practice, maturity of understanding and compassionate heart.

The four-to-six-year teacher training they received incorporates systematic study of Buddhist texts, extensive training in meditation practices and techniques, study of our Buddhist lineage and history, and teacher role studies. It also includes hundreds of hours of practice interviews and assisting at many retreats and classes as preparation for assuming full teacher status. Spirit Rock teachers lead classes and retreats both locally and nationwide.

They also continue as students themselves, dedicated to ongoing study and dharma practice and to deepening their understanding and embodiment of the Buddha's teachings. The Spirit Rock Teachers Council has the responsibility for the spiritual direction and vision of the organization and its meditation programs.